How to improve startup perfromance.

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

How to improve startup perfromance.

Postby acharyanil » Tue Sep 03, 2019 2:24 am

We are experiencing a few seconds delay in loading the url. I have checked few older posts in the forum,
it was suggested to use --no-proxy-server or --winhttp-proxy-resolver command-line switch. I could see a better
performance in loading the URL during startup. But it is not instant like chrome.

Could you please suggest if any other solutions exist for this known problem?

Best Regards,
Anil
acharyanil
Techie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 6:34 am

Re: How to improve startup perfromance.

Postby Czarek » Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:43 am

Are you setting CefSettings.cache_path? Are you comparing CEF and Chrome at the same version? Have you tested with cefsimple/cefclient sample applications? You can set startup url in these apps by providing --url=http:// switch. To set cache directory use the --cache-path switch.
Maintainer of the CEF Python, PHP Desktop and CEF C API projects. My LinkedIn.
User avatar
Czarek
Virtuoso
 
Posts: 1927
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 2:12 am

Re: How to improve startup perfromance.

Postby acharyanil » Tue Sep 03, 2019 5:16 am

Yes, i am setting CefSettings.cache_path. I have tested in the chrome 75.0.3770.100 version and
cef branch 3770 which includes same version. I could see slowness in CEF not in chrome.
Including --url=http:// switch does not make any difference.

Best Regards,
Anil
acharyanil
Techie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 6:34 am

Re: How to improve startup perfromance.

Postby Czarek » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:01 am

What OS? Try disabling any third party software on your machine (AV, Firewall, etc.) or test on a clean OS.
Maintainer of the CEF Python, PHP Desktop and CEF C API projects. My LinkedIn.
User avatar
Czarek
Virtuoso
 
Posts: 1927
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 2:12 am

Re: How to improve startup perfromance.

Postby acharyanil » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:59 am

I have tested on a clean machine, firewall was off. Windows Version 10 ( v1703 ).
In the same version chrome works without delay.
acharyanil
Techie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 6:34 am

Re: How to improve startup perfromance.

Postby magreenblatt » Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:22 am

How are you measuring the startup time? Is Chrome already running when you load the URL?
magreenblatt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12408
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: How to improve startup perfromance.

Postby acharyanil » Wed Sep 04, 2019 5:13 am

Please find the attached video for reference. (Please change the file extension to .mp4 )
There were no chrome instances running when i opened chrome startup URL.
Attachments
3770_NoProxy.txt
Tested with --no-proxy-server command line tag.
(696.42 KiB) Downloaded 487 times
3770_NoCmd.txt
Tested with no command line tags.
(560.9 KiB) Downloaded 543 times
acharyanil
Techie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 6:34 am

Re: How to improve startup perfromance.

Postby acharyanil » Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:11 am

Hi Marshall,

Did you get a chance to look at earlier comment.
Thank you.

Best Regards,
Anil
acharyanil
Techie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 6:34 am

Re: How to improve startup perfromance.

Postby magreenblatt » Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:41 am

Sorry, I don't download/run binary files. Are you testing with an official CEF build from here? Are you loading the same URL in both CEF and Chrome? Are you using a clean cache in both CEF and Chrome? Are you measuring the time between first starting the application exe and when rendered web content first appears on the screen?
magreenblatt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12408
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: How to improve startup perfromance.

Postby acharyanil » Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:20 am

Hi Marshall,
Thank you for your reply.
I have tested cef_binary_76.1.13+gf19c584+chromium-76.0.3809.132_windows32_client sample application version.
I am just loading https://www.google.com/ from both chrome and cef binaries and cache was clean.

Are you measuring the time between first starting the application exe and when rendered web content first appears on the screen?
Yes, I could see a white screen once the process starts, after few sec delay the url gets loaded.

Best Regards,
Anil
acharyanil
Techie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 6:34 am


Return to Support Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests