DOM Visibility (Security-related)

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss CEF here. Non-CEF related discussion goes in General Discussion!

DOM Visibility (Security-related)

Postby fuzzball » Wed Feb 28, 2018 5:14 pm

I'm very new to CEF and I have a question as it relates to the security of the data/DOM of my CEF application.

Obviously when I create a web-app, any user can activate the developer tools of their browser and see much of the makeup of a web app. With CEF I see the sample app has a specific feature to enable remote debugging, but I'm wondering if that is specific to that app, or is that baked into CEF? Could someone find a way to connect to my app and get access to the internals, like the DOM structure. Also, is there any other way that the DOM could be exposed? I can see that if I distribute my JS externally then a user could hack/modify, but if everything is embedded, then I imagine it eliminates that potential threat. I also thought about HTTPS traffic getting captured (like Fiddler) but assume that as long as I encrypt any data that is sent out/received then I'm covered there. Just wondering how exposed my app would be, and what additional security issues I would have to deal with.

If there is a simple Wiki link that I haven't found yet that answers this that would be great as well. Thanks for reading!
fuzzball

Re: DOM Visibility (Security-related)

Postby magreenblatt » Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:03 pm

I suggest you approach the question from a different perspective. What's the worst that can happen if someone gains access to your application logic? What can you do to mitigate those risk factors (e.g from a backend/service perspective)?

Any software installed on another person's machine is subject to decompilation, modification or hijack. Assume that it will happen if the party is motivated enough and protect against potential consequences.
magreenblatt
Site Admin

Postby fuzzball » Thu Mar 01, 2018 9:33 am