Using CEF for integration with Chromium

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss CEF here. Non-CEF related discussion goes in General Discussion!

Using CEF for integration with Chromium

Postby enterit » Sun May 11, 2014 11:59 pm

I am thinking about using custom language as a replacement for JavaScript in Chromium browser.
My ultimate goal is having a full browser (not embedded), that would allow writing all the scripts in Groovy (or any other Java languages).
I like the idea of using JavaScript Integration of CEF. Can I use it in combination with Chromium browser?

I am very new to CEF code, so it would be very helpful if you could point me in the right direction.
Is it in principle possible to add CEF or CEF/based extension (native lib or something) to Chromium, and access Chromium tabs / document / JS context through CEF?
If yes, could you please describe briefly how would you do that? If not, could you please tell what you think would be a better approach?

Thanks a lot!
Sergey
enterit

Re: Using CEF for integration with Chromium

Postby magreenblatt » Mon May 12, 2014 9:57 am

enterit wrote:I am thinking about using custom language as a replacement for JavaScript in Chromium browser.

This will be a significant amount of work and will require changes to Chromium and Blink. You can see discussion related to Dart integration here: https://lists.webkit.org/pipermail/webk ... 18775.html
magreenblatt
Site Admin

Postby enterit » Mon May 12, 2014 2:31 pm

Why would it require a significant amount of work? Think I am fine with JS as a proxy. V8 already has native bindings exposed in CEF - so we should be able to define native functions, primitives and objects in the native code. Also we have callbacks from browsers that allow to hook into different page loading phases.