CEF vs. QtWebkit

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

CEF vs. QtWebkit

Postby hawkgao » Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:20 pm

Hi there,
I'm a newbie for webkit. I'm looking for a framework which can hybrid web and native code. It something like js calls c++ code and c++ can call js also. I did some searching on the internet. Found CEF and QtWebit are the things I want. Some other things also under my consideration, 1) license, looser is better, code change should be allowed. 2) installer size, smaller is better. 3)Html5 features, I hope to keep all cool render features .

Anybody could tell me, which one should I choose CEF or QtWebkit or something else.

Thank you very much!
Hawk
hawkgao
Mentor

Re: CEF vs. QtWebkit

Postby magreenblatt » Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:33 am

Hi Hawk,

hawkgao wrote:1) license, looser is better, code change should be allowed.

CEF license: http://code.google.com/p/chromiumembedd ... ICENSE.txt
QtWebkit license: http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7-snapshot/qt ... nformation

hawkgao wrote:2) installer size, smaller is better.

The most recent binary release of CEF is 13MB compressed on Windows. I'm not sure what size QtWebkit is.

hawkgao wrote:3)Html5 features, I hope to keep all cool render features .

According to http://trac.webkit.org/wiki/QtWebKitFeatures21 QtWebkit is using a July 2010 branch of WebKit. CEF tracks the current WebKit HEAD revision. This means that CEF likely has more and better support for HTML5 features.

Regards,
Masrhall
magreenblatt
Site Admin

Postby cagret » Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:23 pm

QtWebkit is for sure slower, it's build on top of QT framework, CEF is plain fast C++. I've been googling some time ago and found some website comparing speeds of webkit ports and QtWebkit was the slowest of them all, it's probably because of all that QT abstraction that was put into it.