Best way to include pull requests?

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

Best way to include pull requests?

Postby sticman22 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:45 pm

Hi, I'm new to CEF (and application development in general).

I'm currently trying to test PR#104 for OSR touch support in my app, which is currently using libraries built from branch 3112.
What the best way (or any way) to integrate the changes from the pull request into the 3112 branch. There are comments saying they are using the PR changes but I'm not sure how they moved the changes into other branches.

I'm able to clone and build the repo with the automate-git.py script but I get linker errors for libcef when trying to build cefclient or cefsimple.
I've tried git-merging the "touch_pr" branch from the OSR Touch pull request into 3112. I accepted all the incoming conflicts, but ended up geting compiler errors for blink.
I've also tried building branch 2924 from the OSR touch repo, but it doesn't seem to have the changes.

Should I have merged the other way, or used a different branch from the OSR Touch pull request?
Is this what the patch files are for?

Sorry for the noob question
Thanks in advanced.
sticman22

Re: Best way to include pull requests?

Postby magreenblatt » Tue Nov 07, 2017 5:48 pm

PRs are created against master branch so they're unlikely to apply/build cleanly with older release branches. For an easier time you should use either master branch or the most recent release branch listed at https://bitbucket.org/chromiumembedded/ ... -supported. Working with PRs is described at https://bitbucket.org/chromiumembedded/ ... ll-request
magreenblatt
Site Admin

Postby sticman22 » Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:40 pm

Thanks! That was the one wiki page I didn't look at :(