fatal error LNK1318 on version 2924 with VS2015

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

fatal error LNK1318 on version 2924 with VS2015

Postby tiplip » Sun Mar 19, 2017 3:24 am

hi,

I follow the build instructions https://bitbucket.org/chromiumembedded/cef/wiki/MasterBuildQuickStart.md#markdown-header-windows-setup

but fail to link.

OS: Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise + SP1
Compiler: VC2015 Enterprise + SP3

update.bat
Code: Select all
set CEF_USE_GN=1
set GN_DEFINES=is_official_build=true proprietary_codecs=true ffmpeg_branding=Chrome
set GN_ARGUMENTS=--ide=vs2015 --sln=cef --filters=//cef/*
python ..\automate\automate-git.py --download-dir=d:\code\chromium_git --depot-tools-dir=C:\src\depot_tools --branch=2924 --no-distrib --no-build


create.bat
Code: Select all
set CEF_USE_GN=1
set GN_DEFINES=is_official_build=true proprietary_codecs=true ffmpeg_branding=Chrome
set GN_ARGUMENTS=--ide=vs2015 --sln=cef --filters=//cef/*
call cef_create_projects.bat


failed error details
Code: Select all
[26637/26641] LINK(DLL) libcef.dll libcef.dll.lib libcef.dll.pdb
FAILED: libcef.dll libcef.dll.lib libcef.dll.pdb
C:/src/depot_tools/python276_bin/python.exe ../../build/toolchain/win/tool_wrapp
er.py link-wrapper environment.x86 False link.exe /nologo /IMPLIB:./libcef.dll.l
ib /DLL /OUT:./libcef.dll /PDB:./libcef.dll.pdb @./libcef.dll.rsp
layout_2.lib(LayoutTreeAsText.obj) : fatal error LNK1318: Unexpected PDB error;
OK (0) ''
ninja: build stopped: subcommand failed.


on the same machine, I succeeded in building version 2623 with GYP, and I have tried to clear out dir and rebuild but still fail.

who encountered the issue?

thanks.
tiplip
Mentor
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:09 am

Re: fatal error LNK1318 on version 2924 with VS2015

Postby magreenblatt » Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:53 am

Official builds take a lot of RAM. Does your machine have at least 8GB? Also, do you have enough free disk space?
magreenblatt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12408
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: fatal error LNK1318 on version 2924 with VS2015

Postby HarmlessDave » Sun Mar 19, 2017 3:15 pm

I only got 2526 to build with the Official setting by having 8 GB RAM and 16 GB of swap space. 8 GB with the default swap file setting failed for me.

2924 probably requires more RAM than 2526, so you might want to upgrade to 12 GB - 16 GB or go into your swap file settings to force them to something higher like 12 GB.
HarmlessDave
Expert
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 2:02 pm

Re: fatal error LNK1318 on version 2924 with VS2015

Postby tiplip » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:24 pm

magreenblatt wrote:Official builds take a lot of RAM. Does your machine have at least 8GB? Also, do you have enough free disk space?

still has 53G free space while running across such link error.

plus, I have built successfully before with the same version on the same machine, the only different is GN_DEFINES, that is, I can build successfully with:
Code: Select all
set GN_DEFINES=is_win_fastlink=true
tiplip
Mentor
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:09 am

Re: fatal error LNK1318 on version 2924 with VS2015

Postby tiplip » Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:43 pm

I have resolved the issue by changing the GN_DEFINES to:
Code: Select all
set GN_DEFINES=proprietary_codecs=true ffmpeg_branding=Chrome


that is, I removed 'is_official_build=true' after rebooting my machine.
Last edited by tiplip on Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
tiplip
Mentor
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:09 am

Re: fatal error LNK1318 on version 2924 with VS2015

Postby HarmlessDave » Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:50 am

Official takes more RAM for the optimizations than non-official. Like we said :)

Or are you saying your PC has 64 GB of RAM (not disk space)?
HarmlessDave
Expert
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 2:02 pm

Re: fatal error LNK1318 on version 2924 with VS2015

Postby tiplip » Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:29 am

HarmlessDave wrote:Official takes more RAM for the optimizations than non-official. Like we said :)

Or are you saying your PC has 64 GB of RAM (not disk space)?



thanks for your clarification, I misunderstand space here, I mean my disk space :oops:
tiplip
Mentor
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:09 am


Return to Support Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests